Who We Are

The Kalasha Culture is unique all over the world as they are living in the District Chitral of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province of Pakistan only. The Kalash culture is markedly different from other cultures of the region with its unique and colorful way of life. Kalash women wear black dress, embroidered cap, upper cap decorated with sea shells, ornaments and beads etc. while the men had been using woolen cloths, locally made leather shoes, homemade woolen socks and stockings. But now-a-days the Kalash men use Shalwar Qamis, Paint Shirt etc. like other Chitralis around so the Kalash men cannot be recognized by their dress. During Festivals the men wear a special type of Hawk or eagle coloured feather in the cap which distinguishes them from non-Kalash men. Kalash culture and religious is based on doctrine of Onjas’ta (pure) and Pragata (un pure). There are some places that are considered pure, like Sajigore, Mahandew, Z’ac’h etc which are meant for menfolk only. There are some places that are impure places like Bashali, Ana’chu etc. which are forbidden for the men.

Kalash have rich tradition like folklores, epics, love songs and idioms demonstrating high standard of indigenous wisdom. Kalash Celebrate three major festivals every year such as Zhoshi (Chilim Jusht), Uchaw (Uchal) and Chawmos (Chitir mast). In their Culture there is no regular prayers like other religions. The Kalash offer prayers in festival time as well as some other specific time. The Kalash have also some festivals that are celebrated occasionally.


S.No.Kalash NameEnglish Name
1Pushaw MastrukJanuary
2Rosh MastrukFebruary
3Amal MastrukMarch
4Kil’aasaras MastrukApril
5Zhoshi MastrukMay
6Payuchal’ik MastrukJune
7Nel’a MastrukJuly
8Uchaw MastrukAugust
9Sharu MastrukSeptember


Kalash have four seasons in a year. In Kalashi season is called Diyo. The details of Kalash seasons are given below:

1. Basun (Spring)

Basun (Spring) Diyo (Season) comprises of three Months (Mastruk) viz. Amal Mastruk (March), Kil’aasaras Mastruk (April) and Zhoshi Mastruk (May)

2. Nel’a (Summer)

Nel’a (Summer) Diyo (Season) comprises of three Months (Mastruk) i.e. Payuchal’ik Mastruk (Jun), Nel’a Mastruk (July) and Uchaw Mastruk (August)

3. Sharu (Autumn)

Sharu (Autumn) Diyo (Season) comprises of the following three Months (Mastruk): -

  • Sharu Amal Mastruk (September)
  • Jani Mastruk (October)
  • Prechesh Mastruk (November)

4. Heman (Winter)

Heman (Winter) Diyo (Season) comprises of three Months (Mastruk) including Chawmos Mastruk (December), Pushaw Mastruk (January) and Rosh Mastruk (February)